Healdsburg, California 

I have been visiting Northern California for most of my life. Living in Reno it has always been a quick drive over the hill to see my uncles who have lived in San Francisco and now Cloverdale, California. I loved visiting some of the bay area’s attractions as a kid, like Fisherman’s Wharf, Alcatraz and Monterey a Bay Aquarium. Now that I am an adult I more interested in the the finer things in life, like quiet afternoon on the beach and good food. That’s why next time I head over the hill I am going to visit Healdsburg.

Healdsburg is a small town about an hour and half north of San Francisco. It is located in the heart of Sonoma wine country and sits on the shore of the Russian River. Healdsburg is known for its wine, food and quaint shops. Upon arrival the first thing I would want to do is eat. There is a great restaurant called Costeaux French Bakery. I love all of the breakfast food that I should not be eating. My favorite is French toast, with lots of butter and maple syrup, and a rich latte. stuffed-french-toastAfter a decadent breakfast I would head down the main drag to enjoy the shops, and hopefully work up an appetite for my next meal.

After a morning of shopping I would head to Big John’s Market, where I would pick up supplies for a nice picnic. Big John’s has a great collection of fine cheeses and specialty breads, and most importantly chocolate. Lunch in hand, I would drive to the beach of the Russian River. There I would enjoy my sandwich and take an afternoon nap, and probably spend a few hours lost in good book. The next book I hope to read is The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, because the best type of book to read on the beach is a good mystery.

As the day would wind down most people would start thinking about which restaurant they would want to eat at in Healdsburg. There are many good options, however I have my own tradition. Whenever I go to the Bay Area on the way home I eat at the In-n-Out in Auburn, California. For some reason this In-n-Out is the best I have ever had. Nothing says ending a day in the fancy wine country like a fast food hamburger right?

Please leave any comments about your favorite things to do and eat in Healdsburg, California.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

