Greece

You can probably tell at his point that I would pretty much want to visit every country in Europe.  Next on my list would be Greece.  I love the pictures of the all white cities with the iconic blue roofs.

I may have to wait a few years from now to make this trip because Greece is having some real problems.  However, when things improve I would love to visit Greece because it is stunningly beautiful, there is so much history and they are the birthplace of one of my favorite foods, baklava.

Baklava is a pastry made of layers of dough filled with nuts and honey.  It is flaky and sweet and delicious.  I am also a big fan of Greek salad.  Greek salad is characterized by feta, tomatoes, cucumber and kalamata olives.

I would love to start my trip in Athens.  Athens has so many historical sites that  would be so cool to see in person.  I would love to see the Parthenon and the Acropolis.  It is hard to believe that there are buildings that are so old, that are still standing.

Also I love the movie 300.  It is one of those movies that I know is kind of stupid, but fr whatever reason I love it.  I know it is fantasy, but I would love to go and see the ruins of Sparta.  I would like to see how Sparta is different from the other parts of Greece.

I would also love to spend some time on a boat exploring some of the many Greek islands.  I would love to find some

scenic and excluded beach where I can enjoy Some peace and quiet.

Please leave any comments about your favorite places to go and foods to eat in Greece.

One comment

  1. Dear Madalaine,

    I live in Greece and I’d like to say that you that there is no real reason to wait if you want to come to Greece. Life in Greece continues normally. Only banks are closed these days and there is a limit on how much money Greeks can withdraw from ATMs per day (60 €).

    For tourists with credit cards or debit cards issued in other countries though, there is no limit.
    Everybody (except media) is very calm and I think that you will have very nice time and you may spend less as you may have discounts thesed days.

    I would be really glad to help you with any related info you may need.

    Warm regards,
    George

    Like

Leave a Reply

